Generac PWRcell
Generac states 8.6 kWh (Generac PWRcell 9 (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules), United States) to 18 kWh (Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M6 (18 kWh, DCB modules), United States) usable energy.
Generac states 3.4 kW (Generac PWRcell 9 (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules), United States) to 6.7 kW (Generac PWRcell 17 (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules), United States) continuous power.
Warranty terms: 10 years (per module, United States); warranted throughput: 7.56 MWh (Generac PWRcell (gen 1) battery cabinet, all configurations, United States); capacity at warranty end: 70% (Generac PWRcell (gen 1) battery cabinet, all configurations, United States).
Brand: Generac
Published figures
| Figure | Value | Publisher | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Usable energy, Generac PWRcell 9 (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules) | 8.6 kWh | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Usable Energy, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Usable energy, Generac PWRcell 12 (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules) | 11.4 kWh | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Usable Energy, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Usable energy, Generac PWRcell 15 (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules) | 14.3 kWh | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Usable Energy, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Usable energy, Generac PWRcell 17 (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules) | 17.1 kWh | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Usable Energy, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Usable energy, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M3 (9 kWh, DCB modules) | 9 kWh | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Usable Energy, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Usable energy, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M4 (12 kWh, DCB modules) | 12 kWh | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Usable Energy, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Usable energy, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M5 (15 kWh, DCB modules) | 15 kWh | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Usable Energy, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Usable energy, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M6 (18 kWh, DCB modules) | 18 kWh | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Usable Energy, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Continuous power, Generac PWRcell 9 (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules) | 3.4 kW | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Power - Rated Continuous, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Continuous power, Generac PWRcell 12 (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules) | 4.5 kW | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Power - Rated Continuous, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Continuous power, Generac PWRcell 15 (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules) | 5.6 kW | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Power - Rated Continuous, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Continuous power, Generac PWRcell 17 (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules) | 6.7 kW | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Power - Rated Continuous, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Continuous power, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M3 (9 kWh, DCB modules) (AC) | 3.4 kW | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Nominal Cont. AC Power, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Continuous power, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M4 (12 kWh, DCB modules) (AC) | 4.5 kW | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Nominal Cont. AC Power, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Continuous power, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M5 (15 kWh, DCB modules) (AC) | 5.6 kW | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Nominal Cont. AC Power, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Continuous power, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M6 (18 kWh, DCB modules) (AC) | 6.7 kW | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Nominal Cont. AC Power, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Peak power, Generac PWRcell 9 (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules) (power side and duration not stated) | 5 kW | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Power - 2 Minutes, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Peak power, Generac PWRcell 12 (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules) (power side and duration not stated) | 6.7 kW | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Power - 2 Minutes, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Peak power, Generac PWRcell 15 (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules) (power side and duration not stated) | 8.4 kW | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Power - 2 Minutes, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Peak power, Generac PWRcell 17 (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules) (power side and duration not stated) | 10 kW | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Power - 2 Minutes, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Peak power, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M3 (9 kWh, DCB modules) (AC) | 4.5 kW | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Max. AC Power, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Peak power, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M4 (12 kWh, DCB modules) (AC) | 6 kW | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Max. AC Power, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Peak power, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M5 (15 kWh, DCB modules) (AC) | 7.5 kW | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Max. AC Power, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Peak power, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M6 (18 kWh, DCB modules) (AC) | 9 kW | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Max. AC Power, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Surge power, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) battery cabinet, all configurations (AC) | 11 kW | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.1 AC Output (Island Mode), retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Motor start (LRA), Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M3 (9 kWh, DCB modules) | 25 A | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Peak Motor Starting Current, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Motor start (LRA), Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M4 (12 kWh, DCB modules) | 33 A | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Peak Motor Starting Current, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Motor start (LRA), Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M5 (15 kWh, DCB modules) | 42 A | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Peak Motor Starting Current, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Motor start (LRA), Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M6 (18 kWh, DCB modules) | 50 A | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Peak Motor Starting Current, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Round-trip efficiency, United States, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) battery cabinet, all configurations | 90% differs from another document | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.1 Efficiency / Typical Roundtrip Efficiency, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Round-trip efficiency, United States, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) battery cabinet, all configurations | 96.5% differs from another document | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / DC-DC Round-Trip Efficiency, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Round-trip efficiency, United States, Generac PWRcell (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules), all configurations | 96.5% | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Round-Trip Efficiency, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Units per system, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) battery cabinet, all configurations | 2 cabinets | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.1 Features & Benefits, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Largest stack, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) battery cabinet, all configurations | 36 kWh | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.1 Features & Benefits, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Largest stack, Generac PWRcell (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules), all configurations | 34.2 kWh | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.1 Features & Benefits, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Lowest operating temperature, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) battery cabinet, all configurations (discharging) | −10°C | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Maximum Operating Temperature Range, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Lowest operating temperature, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) battery cabinet, all configurations (charging) | 5°C | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Maximum Operating Temperature Range, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Lowest operating temperature, Generac PWRcell (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules), all configurations | 5°C | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Operating Temperature, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Highest operating temperature, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) battery cabinet, all configurations (discharging) | 50°C | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Maximum Operating Temperature Range, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Highest operating temperature, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) battery cabinet, all configurations (charging) | 50°C | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Maximum Operating Temperature Range, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Highest operating temperature, Generac PWRcell (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules), all configurations | 45°C | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Operating Temperature, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Weight, Generac PWRcell 9 (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules) | 127 kg | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Weight, installed, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Weight, Generac PWRcell 12 (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules) | 152 kg | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Weight, installed, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Weight, Generac PWRcell 15 (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules) | 178 kg | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Weight, installed, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Weight, Generac PWRcell 17 (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules) | 202 kg | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Weight, installed, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Weight, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M3 (9 kWh, DCB modules) | 127 kg | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Weight, installed, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Weight, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M4 (12 kWh, DCB modules) | 152 kg | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Weight, installed, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Weight, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M5 (15 kWh, DCB modules) | 177 kg | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Weight, installed, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Weight, Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M6 (18 kWh, DCB modules) | 202 kg | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Weight, installed, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
See it on the home battery chart
Stated stack range
Largest stated stack: 36 kWh (energy basis not stated) (2 cabinets).
Stated temperature limits
Stated operating range: 41°F (5°C) to 113°F (45°C), Generac PWRcell (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules), all configurations.
Stated charging range: 41°F (5°C) to 122°F (50°C), Generac PWRcell (gen 1) battery cabinet, all configurations.
Stated discharging range: 14°F (−10°C) to 122°F (50°C), Generac PWRcell (gen 1) battery cabinet, all configurations.
Battery’s stated motor-start current: 25 A for the Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M3 (9 kWh, DCB modules), 33 A for the Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M4 (12 kWh, DCB modules), 42 A for the Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M5 (15 kWh, DCB modules), 50 A for the Generac PWRcell (gen 1) M6 (18 kWh, DCB modules) (LRA means locked-rotor amps, a motor’s starting current). Compare starting current.
Warranty terms
| Term | Figure | Document |
|---|---|---|
| Warranty, United States | per module: 10 years | Warranty, at p.1 warranty table, Battery Modules row, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Warranted throughput, United States | Generac PWRcell (gen 1) battery cabinet, all configurations: 7.56 MWh | Warranty, at p.1 warranty table, Battery Modules row, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Capacity at warranty end, United States | Generac PWRcell (gen 1) battery cabinet, all configurations: 70% | Warranty, at p.1 warranty table, Battery Modules row, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
Where published values differ
| Figure | Value | Publisher | Document |
|---|---|---|---|
| Round-trip efficiency | 96.5% | Manufacturer | Spec sheet |
| 90% | Manufacturer | Spec sheet |
Features the manufacturer states
Configuration: Generac PWRcell (gen 1) battery cabinet, all configurations.
| Feature | Stated | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Chemistry | NMC Checked against the document | Spec sheet, at p.1 Specifications / Battery Chemistry, retrieved Sep 25, 2026BATTERY CHEMISTRY: Lithium Nickel Manganese Cobalt (NMC) |
| Coupling | DC Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.1 intro, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Whole-home backup | Yes Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.1 footnote 3, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Backup | Island mode 7.6 kW via inverter, 9 kW (one 6-module cabinet) or 11 kW (two cabinets) with external transfer switch for whole-home backup Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.1 AC Output (Island Mode), footnote 3, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Built-in inverter | No Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.1 Features & Benefits, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Compatible inverters | PWRcell Inverter only Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Installation Guidelines, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Enclosure rating | Type 3R Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Enclosure Type, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Nominal battery voltage | 380 V Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Nominal Voltage, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Grid voltage | 120/240 split phase V AC Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.1 AC Output, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
| Dimensions | 559 x 254 x 1727 (L x W x H) mm Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Specifications / Dimensions, retrieved Sep 25, 2026 |
Government and program lists
This product is on none of the lists this site reads.
Installs
Medians require at least 20 priced installs for the named measure and period.
- Connecticut records 180 installs, 2022–2025. Source: Connecticut Energy Storage Solutions — enrollment. Median battery cost, 2022–2025: $1,548 per kWh, from 180 priced installs.
What Connecticut homes paid
All recorded installs were paired with solar PV.
Figures are medians. Parentheses give the middle half of prices. A dash means too few prices for a median.
| Year | Pairing | Installs | Battery cost per kWh | Total battery cost | Contract price | Up-front incentive |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All years | Paired with solar PV | 180 | $1,548 per kWh (middle half $1,487–$1,548)180 priced installs, 2022–2025 | $27,866 (middle half $27,478–$27,866)180 priced installs, 2022–2025 | $27,866 (middle half $27,587–$27,866)180 priced installs, 2022–2025 | $8,100 (middle half $8,100–$10,800)180 priced installs, 2022–2025 |
| 2022 | Paired with solar PV | 10 | —10 priced installs, 2022 | —10 priced installs, 2022 | —10 priced installs, 2022 | —10 priced installs, 2022 |
| 2023 | Paired with solar PV | 11 | —11 priced installs, 2023 | —11 priced installs, 2023 | —11 priced installs, 2023 | —11 priced installs, 2023 |
| 2024 | Paired with solar PV | 99 | $1,548 per kWh (middle half $1,536–$1,548)99 priced installs, 2024 | $27,866 (middle half $27,654–$27,866)99 priced installs, 2024 | $27,866 (middle half $27,654–$27,866)99 priced installs, 2024 | $10,800 (middle half $8,100–$10,800)99 priced installs, 2024 |
| 2025 | Paired with solar PV | 60 | $1,548 per kWh (middle half $1,056–$1,548)60 priced installs, 2025 | $27,866 (middle half $19,013–$27,866)60 priced installs, 2025 | $27,866 (middle half $19,013–$27,866)60 priced installs, 2025 | $9,464 (middle half $8,100–$10,800)60 priced installs, 2025 |
Contract prices may include solar or other equipment. Prices are before the up-front incentive. Approvals run through Sep 29, 2026. Counts and prices are from the program’s Oct 1, 2026 release.
Recalls and safety notices
No notice in the recall sources this site reads is matched to this product. That is not a safety finding. See every recall notice.
- UL 9540 listed: Yes (Generac PWRcell (gen 1) battery cabinet, all configurations)
- UL 9540 listed: Yes (Generac PWRcell (gen 1, 2.85 kWh modules), all configurations)
- UL 9540A tested: Yes (Generac PWRcell (gen 1) battery cabinet, all configurations)
The maker states the listing or test. The listing body's records have not been checked.
Backup hours from your load
The stated usable energy divided by your load gives hours, starting with a full battery.
Continuous power: 3.4 kW (AC)
Peak power: 4.5 kW (AC)
Continuous power: 4.5 kW (AC)
Peak power: 6 kW (AC)
Continuous power: 5.6 kW (AC)
Peak power: 7.5 kW (AC)
Continuous power: 6.7 kW (AC)
Peak power: 9 kW (AC)
Backup hours follow the California Air Resources Board’s Zero Emissions Residential Backup Power Tool. Appliance figures come from the US Department of Energy’s Estimating Appliance and Home Electronic Energy Use (2012).
- The appliance figures are nameplate maximums. Average demand changes as appliances cycle and their settings change.
- A load above the stated continuous power gets no figure.
- Motor starts use three times the largest selected motor’s watts, plus the other loads. This estimate is checked against stated peak power when available. Other loads are counted at their running watts.
- Inverter and battery losses are not counted. A field study of household backup power explains the gap.
- Solar recharge, reserves, and temperature changes are outside the calculation.