Lunar System
Lunar states 5 kWh (Lunar System Gen 1 (5 kWh battery block), United States) to 30 kWh (Lunar System LFP (L2-ESS-20KWH + 2 x LE-DC-UNIT, 30 kWh), United States) nominal energy.
Lunar states 9.6 kW continuous power (Lunar System (15-30 kWh, current), United States).
Warranty terms: 12.5 years (Lunar System Gen 1 (LE-ESS-15KWH, 15 kWh), United States); 12.5 years (Lunar System (15-30 kWh, current), United States); 12.5 years (Lunar System Gen 1 (LE-ESS-20KWH, 20 kWh), United States); warranted throughput: 56 MWh (Lunar System Gen 1 (LE-ESS-15KWH, 15 kWh), United States); warranted throughput: 75 MWh (Lunar System Gen 1 (LE-ESS-20KWH, 20 kWh), United States).
Brand: Lunar
Published figures
No figures have been collected for usable energy, units per system, and end-of-warranty capacity.
| Figure | Value | Publisher | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nominal energy, Lunar System Gen 1 (5 kWh battery block) | 5 kWh | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Battery Block table, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Oct 6, 2025 |
| Nominal energy, Lunar System Gen 1 (LE-ESS-15KWH, 15 kWh) | 15 kWh | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Lunar Battery table, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Oct 6, 2025 |
| Nominal energy, Lunar System Gen 1 (LE-ESS-20KWH, 20 kWh) | 20 kWh | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Lunar Battery table, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Oct 6, 2025 |
| Nominal energy, Lunar System LFP (L2-ESS-10KWH, 10 kWh) | 10 kWh | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Lunar Battery table, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Mar 3, 2026 |
| Nominal energy, Lunar System LFP (L2-ESS-15KWH, 15 kWh) | 15 kWh | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Lunar Battery table, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Mar 3, 2026 |
| Nominal energy, Lunar System LFP (L2-ESS-20KWH + 1 x LE-DC-UNIT, 25 kWh) | 25 kWh | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Lunar Battery table, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Mar 3, 2026 |
| Nominal energy, Lunar System LFP (L2-ESS-20KWH + 2 x LE-DC-UNIT, 30 kWh) | 30 kWh | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Lunar Battery table, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Mar 3, 2026 |
| Nominal energy, Lunar System LFP (L2-ESS-20KWH, 20 kWh) | 20 kWh | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Spec sheet, at p.2 Lunar Battery table, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Mar 3, 2026 |
| Continuous power, Lunar System (15-30 kWh, current) | 9.6 kW | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Web page, at Lunar System components / System, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Sep 25, 2026 |
| Peak power, Lunar System (15-30 kWh, current) (power side and duration not stated) | 15 kW | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Web page, at Lunar System components / System, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Sep 25, 2026 |
| Motor start (LRA), Lunar System (15-30 kWh, current) | 134 A | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Web page, at Lunar System components / System, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Sep 25, 2026 |
| Largest stack, Lunar System (15-30 kWh, current) | 30 kWh | Manufacturer Not yet checked | Web page, at Lunar System components / System, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Sep 25, 2026 |
Stated stack range
Largest stated stack: 30 kWh (energy basis not stated).
Battery’s stated motor-start current: 134 A for the Lunar System (15-30 kWh, current) (LRA means locked-rotor amps, a motor’s starting current). Compare starting current.
Warranty terms
| Term | Figure | Document |
|---|---|---|
| Warranty, United States | Lunar System Gen 1 (LE-ESS-15KWH, 15 kWh): 12.5 years | Spec sheet, at p.2 Lunar Battery table, Warranty row, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Oct 6, 2025 |
| Warranty, United States | Lunar System (15-30 kWh, current): 12.5 years | Web page, at Lunar Battery, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Sep 25, 2026 |
| Warranty, United States | Lunar System Gen 1 (LE-ESS-20KWH, 20 kWh): 12.5 years | Spec sheet, at p.2 Lunar Battery table, Warranty row, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Oct 6, 2025 |
| Warranted throughput, United States | Lunar System Gen 1 (LE-ESS-15KWH, 15 kWh): 56 MWh | Spec sheet, at p.2 Lunar Battery table, Warranty row, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Oct 6, 2025 |
| Warranted throughput, United States | Lunar System Gen 1 (LE-ESS-20KWH, 20 kWh): 75 MWh | Spec sheet, at p.2 Lunar Battery table, Warranty row, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Oct 6, 2025 |
Features the manufacturer states
Configuration: Lunar System (15-30 kWh, current).
| Feature | Stated | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Whole-home backup | Yes Not yet checked | Web page, at launch post, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Jun 21, 2023 |
| Backup | Seamless backup transition, Lunar Bridge (200 A panel) or ConnectDER meter-socket adapter, Eaton AbleEdge smart breakers shed non-essential loads Not yet checked | Web page, at Lunar System components / System and Bridge, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Sep 25, 2026 |
| Built-in inverter | Yes Not yet checked | Web page, at launch post, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Jun 21, 2023 |
| Dimensions | 269 x 620 x 343 (L x W x D) per block mm Not yet checked | Web page, at Lunar Battery, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Sep 25, 2026 |
| Place of assembly | United States Not yet checked | Web page, at page footer, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Sep 25, 2026 |
| Product status | current Not yet checked | Web page, at Lunar System, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Sep 25, 2026 |
| Launched | 2023 Not yet checked | Web page, at launch post header, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Jun 21, 2023 |
Government and program lists
This product is on none of the lists this site reads.
Installs
No install count this site publishes covers this product.
Recalls and safety notices
No notice in the recall sources this site reads is matched to this product. That is not a safety finding. See every recall notice.
- UL 9540 listed: Yes (Lunar System (15-30 kWh, current))
- UL 9540A tested: Yes (Lunar System (15-30 kWh, current))Web page, at Lunar System components / System, retrieved Sep 25, 2026, dated Sep 25, 2026 Not yet checked
The maker states the listing or test. The listing body's records have not been checked.
Backup hours from your load
This battery has no maker-stated usable energy on this site.